The present shop with the Laura name has been in existence for many years. Initially at the start of the 1900s the premises was a large Post Office and this traded right through the 1st World War.
In 1928 the Post Office was moved down the road and the building was sold. The premises was then split at ground level into two shops - a butcher and a gents' outfitter. The upper floors were converted into flats. Some years later the gents' outfitter became Laura although the butcher has changed hands many times over in the intervening years.
Nowadays, visitors are attracted to the Old Town's unusual charm and character, its variety of architecture spanning five centuries, with shops, houses, churches and pubs all mixed together.
The most prominent feature on the High Street is the red-brick Market Hall with its rounded arches and clock tower. Within the open space beneath, the market is held that was granted by a charter of 1200 in the reign of King John. A two day fair was also granted and Amersham fair continues to transform the High Street as it has done for nearly 800 years on 19th and 20th September.
Today the Old Town with its enchanting shops stock everything from antiques to contemporary fashion. It has often been described as a unique jewel in the crown of Buckinghamshire.